Barren Creek Springs Church is available for group tours throughout the year on a prearranged basis. Please contact Wicomico Historical Society to make arrangements.
Schedule a Tour
Call to Schedule as a Wedding Venue
Built in 1842 and now maintained as an historic site by Westside Historical Society. In 1834 Joshua Brattan, prominent farmer and landowner of Barren Creek Springs gave an acre of land, for "the love of literature and religion," to a board of ten Presbyterian trustees to establish a school, cemetery, and church "on the county road between Barren Creek Mills and the Springs." In 1842 the congregation built a church building which also housed the town's only school.
By ca.1860 Presbyterian membership in Barren Creek Springs Church had dropped to ten and in 1887 the congregation dissolved. Although, built by Presbyterians in 1842, since then it has been used also by Episcopalians, Methodists, and Baptists. Over the next six decades various groups and congregations - even the boy scouts - used the building. The Presbytery sold the building to Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Gunby, who in 1988 donated the church building to the Westside Historical Society. The next year the task of restoration was begun. Through the hard work of its members and the generosity of friends and supporters the work largely was completed in 1997.
Today, most of the windows and all of the pews are original, as is the plain wood flooring, hanging oil lamp chandeliers and tall pulpit lamps. A pump organ, antique chairs, tables, and liturgical accessories also have been donated to take their place along side the original furnishings. In 1985 the American Presbyterian Church named the building,"Site #248" on the American Presbyterian Reformed Historic Sites Registry. It continues to remind all who visit, of the history of this special place. In 2005 a local preservationist donated an original "Mason-Dixon" marker stone to be placed on the grounds of the church. The stone is marked with an M on one side and a P on the other, for Maryland and Pennsylvania, which in 1765 included the three lower counties of Delaware.
413 Main St, Mardela Springs, MD 21837
Schedule a Visit 410-726-8047
Wicomico County's Nanticoke River watershed area's history, traditions, and cultural heritage, special focus on town's history as a mineral water spa attraction and more than 25 exhibits.
106 Bratten St. Mardela Springs, Maryland
Also in Mardela Springs, Maryland is a collection of nine buildings owned and operated by the non-profit corporation, of the same name. Several buildings have been moved on to the site, including an early 19th century farm house, a one-room school, and a general store, which originally was in the town. Also on the site is the town's early 20th century Lodge Hall, a livery stable, two sheds now converted to exhibit space, and a building which served as a cannery at one time and now housses exhibits about the town's early commercial life. An early 1900's Victorian style home has recently been renovated and also is open to visitors. The complex is open by appointment. For more information regarding tours visit www.adkinsmuseum.com/tours
Pemberton Hall Foundation has the Pemberton Hall Building open for vistors during events at Pemberton Park hosted by Wicomico County and for scheduled visits. Learn more at http://www.pembertonhall.org/
5561 Plantation Ln, Salisbury, MD 21801
(410) 548-4900 ext. 114
Pemberton Historical Park
5561 Plantation Lane, Salisbury, Maryland 21801
410-548-4900 ext. 114
Check out Local Events at the Park at
Pemberton Park is located on Pemberton Drive on the west side of Salisbury, Maryland, just a short distance from Route 50. The park's 262 acres offers the opportunity to hike 4.5 miles of Maryland nature trails, appreciate the beauty of nature and participate in environmental education, historical interpretation or special event activities. Informational brochures are available in the contact building near the parking lot. Brochures include trail guides illustrating various environmental features, bird and plant brochures and special event listings. Information is also available regarding "Friends of Pemberton" membership.While hiking the trails, you will encounter ecosystems and their natural complement of plants and animals that are specific to many different regions of the Eastern Shore. It is rare to find any other place on the Eastern Shore where tidal and fresh water wetlands, fresh water ponds, upland pines, hardwood forests and meadows can all be studied within the same site. This unique feature, when coupled with the historical aspects of Pemberton Park, makes it especially attractive for school studies or a casual hike.
909 South Schumaker Drive
Salisbury, MD 21804
Mon - Sat: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sun: 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
As you enjoy a nice day on the Nanticoke Heritage Byway make sure to stop at the Bethel Museum. We have something great for everybody. Permanent maritime exhibits, two to three different visiting exhibits each year, a chance to buy a nice souvenir for a loved one and plenty of activities for your kids. And don't miss to enjoy a delightful walk through our lovely old town! Look at the old Victorian homes, built in the 1800s for the the ship captains.
The Bethel Heritage Museum is preserving the history of the maritime industry in this peaceful, small town on Broad Creek. Bethel was founded in 1795 and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975, the only town in Delaware to be so designated in its entirety.
Bethel Heritage Museum
312 1st Street
Bethel , DE 19931
Hours. 2nd and 4th Sunday, 2pm to 4pm
for special arrangements:
Bethel Historical Society President Kevin Phillips (302)858-3840
In 1665, Thomas Taylor was granted 700 acres of Land called “Handsell” along the Nanticoke River in the location of Chicone Indian town. In 1704 this land was made part of an Indian reservation by an Act of the Maryland Assembly. In 1769 the properties were returned to the ownership of the English families who had possessed the land grants.Handsell is one of the last remaining 18th c. brick dwelling houses in Dorchester Co. Originally a grand, two story Georgian home, a major event, possibly a fire at Handsell gutted much of the interior and weakened the rear exterior wall, causing a partial collapse of the structure.After a fire, Handsell was rebuilt to the one and one-half story structure we see today. The interior woodwork is all original to the period of the rebuild in 1837 by John Shehee, a local farmer.This brick dwelling house exhibits a unique façade with a protruding pavilion and Flemish bond brickwork, indicating the builder’s knowledge of contemporary design trends.Handsell is now listed on the State and National Register of Historic Places!!!
Nanticoke River Vienna, Maryland
"This report evaluates the national significance of the trail known as the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Water Trail, which incorporates those parts of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries that Smith explored primarily on two voyages in 1608. The study area includes parts of four states—Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, and Pennsylvania—and the District of Columbia."
Sharptown is located on the Nanticoke River that is the line between Wicomico and Dorchester County, Maryland. This quaint town was once a major shipbuilding community, and a busy shipping center on the Nanticoke River, sending sailing vessels up and down the Atlantic Coast, into the Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico ports.
Outside of Sharptown, Maryland is San Domingo, a community formed by free black families in the first decades of the 1800s.. In the early 20th century a “Rosenwald School” was built by residents, working with philanthropist Julius Rosenwald, an effort to improve education for African Americans in the early 20th Century.
2685 Whitehaven Road Whitehaven, MD 21856
Ph: 410-873-3099 (local)
Reservations Toll Free: 877-233-8203
Nestled on the shore of the Wicomico River, the village of Whitehaven is about 25 minutes outside Salisbury, MD. Other Eastern Shore attractions such as Ocean City, Chincoteague Island and the Assateague National Seashore are also short drives away. Local Map - Regional Map
100 Heron Blvd, Cambridge, MD 21613
Book Your Stay:
130 W Market Street Salisbury MD 21801
Waterfront choice serving upscale American fare with local seafood & paired wines, with live music.
Mon - Sat : 11am - 2am
Sun: 11am - 12am
27000 Ocean Gateway, Hebron, MD 21830
Ph: 443- 859-8738
The Farmer's Wife is a restaurant located right off of rt.50 in between Mardela Springs, Md & Salisbury, Md. in Herbon, Md on the west bound lane. You can't miss it! They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, as well as, have local produce for purchase!
For more information visit there Facebook:
Schedule A Tour with Chesapeake Tours & Promotions with Priscilla Timken. Explore the of back roads and hideaway eateries, quaint small towns and ocean-side resorts, museums and outdoor adventures, wineries and historic sites with a professional Eastern Shore Certified Tour Guide. We offer custom tour packages for groups visiting the Shore to explore & for over 5 years experience offering Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad Tours with professionally certified interpretive guides.
Special Guided Tours for the NEW Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad Visitor Center
Our Area has an abundance of waterways that are free to the public to get outdoors and enjoy!
Blackwater National Refuge
2145 Key Wallace Dr, Cambridge, MD 21613
*vehicle drive-thru $3
*near Harriet Tubman UGRR Visitor Center
Long Wharf Park
Pemberton Historical Park
5561 Plantation Ln, Salisbury, MD 21801
There are many Golf Courses surrounding our local area.
Ocean City, Maryland has many golf courses available as well if you are willing to travel outside of the Westside area.
2938 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613
315 Main Street Mardela Springs, Maryland
Giftshop located in the heart of town in Mardela Springs, Maryland. Reasonable decor for your home & more!
For more information visit Facebook:
909 Progress Cir, Salisbury, MD 21804
MAC is the designated area agency on aging for Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico and Worcester Counties. MAC is dedicated to the principle that older persons are entitled to lives of dignity, security, physical, mental, and social well-being; and to full participation in society. To achieve our purpose for all older persons, MAC, an equal opportunity employer and service provider, serves as a focal point from which to address social and economic needs identified by older persons; and to provide a full range of services. MAC is a private, non-profit organization and is proud to be a member agency of the United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore.